20190410 kcfi abs cbn and pace award class project finalists 01

After screening 77 entries from 44 different colleges and universities around the Philippines, Knowledge Channel Foundation Inc. (KCFI), ABS-CBN, and the Philippine Association of Communication Educators (PACE) has finally selected the Top 10 Finalists and awarded the Top 3 Documentaries of the 2018 Class Project Student Documentary Competition.

The awarding was held last March 8 at the College of the Holy Spirit in Manila as a culminating event for the annual Pinoy Media Congress. Presenters of the awards were led by ABS-CBN’s top executives Carlo L. Katigbak (Chief Executive Officer), Ma. Socorro Vidanes (Chief Operating Officer), Ging Reyes (News and Current Affairs Head), Kane Errol Choa (Public Relations Head), PACE National President Dr. Rowena Capulong-Reyes, and KCFI President and Executive Director Rina Lopez Bautista.

Earning the coveted top prize was the documentary “Pasan” from University of the Philippines – Diliman which followed the people who worshipped a “gay Christ” in the name of Roger Marcos. Landing on second place was “Silang Walang Daan” from Lyceum of the Philippines University – Laguna where a road in a state of disrepair has gravely affected the people who live in the town of Tiniguiban. The third and final spot was given to “Labay Ku” from Far Eastern University whose story revolved around an indigenous tribe affected by the ongoing development of New Clark City.

The Top 10 Class Project documentaries will be aired on Knowledge Channel starting April 5 and can be watched on iWant. For the full schedule, check the list below.

April 5
“Pasan” – University of the Philippines – Diliman
“Silang Walang Daan” – Lyceum of the Philippines University – Laguna

April 12
“Labay Ku” – Far Eastern University
“Pangarap ng Pag-ahon” – Lyceum of the Philippines University – Laguna

April 26
“Ukit” – University of Sto. Tomas
“Kakaibata” – University of Makati

May 3
“Habag” – St. Louis University Baguio
“Tribu sa Siyudad” – University of Batangas

May 10
“Daluyong ng Sigwa” – University of Sto. Tomas
“Parangalan Letran” – Colegio de San Juan de Letran