The Management Association of the Philippines (MAP) has selected Federico R. Lopez (FRL), chairman and CEO of Lopez Holdings Corporation and First Philippine Holdings Corporation (FPH), as the MAP Management Man of the Year 2020.

In a statement, MAP said FRL was chosen for “passionately pushing for the country’s transition to a low-carbon economy through his various advocacies to proactively address the irreparable damage of climate change; for championing the power industry’s deregulation for the benefit of the country; for steering the Lopez Group to being in the forefront of energy security and sustainability, and clean technologies for renewable energy and natural gas; and for developing a deep bench of Filipino technical and managerial talent who are globally competitive.”

In addition, MAP said FRL was also selected for his leadership role in substantial contributions of the Lopez Group to national development in terms of production, value adding, income generation and job creation; for his contribution to long-­term positive development of society through his undertakings on technical­-vocational education, youth development and community-based livelihood programs, scholarship opportunities for musicians and research projects on environmental protection; and for setting an example for Filipino managers through a track record of integrity, entrepreneurial excellence, professional competence and great leadership in his management career.

FRL was elected as chairman and CEO of Lopez Holdings at the organizational meeting of its board of directors on October 2. Martin L. Lopez, chairman of ABS-CBN Corporation, was elected as Lopez Holdings vice chairman in the same meeting. Ambassador Manuel M. Lopez, who served as Lopez Holdings chairman since 2010, was elected as chairman emeritus.

This followed the resignation of Lopez Holdings chairman emeritus Oscar M. Lopez and vice chairman Eugenio Lopez III, who had served as directors of the corporation since inception.

Miguel L. Lopez, executive vice president of Lopez Holdings, was elected as treasurer. He is also a member of the board of directors and treasurer of Rockwell Land Corporation, and a newly elected director of FPH.